Sports Entertainment News


Shaw Named to AFCA Board of Trustees Stanford head coach one of three newly elected members

Posted January 8, 2018 by in

STANFORD, Calif. – Bradford M. Freeman Director of Football David Shaw has been elected to the board of trustees of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), as announced Monday.

Shaw is one of three newly elected members along with North Texas head coach Seth Littrell and North Dakota State head coach Chris Klieman.

The coaches were elected by members attending the AFCA Convention in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Shaw will be an FBS Pac-12 Conference representative while Littrell will be an FBS Conference USA representative. Klieman will be an FCS representative.

Shaw joins a group of distinguished head coaches who guide the organization. The board formulates policy and provides direction for the AFCA, which was founded in 1922. The AFCA has more than 11,000 members from all levels of the profession.

Returning members of the AFCA board of trustees include incoming president Bill Cronin of Georgetown (Ky.), first vice president Frank Solich of Ohio, second vice president Gary Patterson of TCU and third vice president Pete Fredenburg of Mary Hardin-Baylor.

Shaw recently completed his seventh season as the head coach of his alma mater while leading the Cardinal to a 9-5 record, a Pac-12 North Division title and an appearance in the Alamo Bowl. He also won this year’s Bobby Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award which honors the head football coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field throughout the season.

Shaw’s involvement within the sport reaches far beyond the football field. Since taking over the Cardinal program in 2011, Shaw has invested his time creating winners on and off the field. In the classroom, his student-athletes have maintained a high level of academic excellence earning an Academic Progress Rating (APR) score of 985 and a graduation success rate of 96 percent. These impressive numbers earned Stanford a spot among Clemson, Duke, Northwestern and Wisconsin as the only FBS football teams to earn APR Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA in each of the past four years. To cap off the season, two Stanford student-athletes earned Academic All-America honors, marking the first time since 2010 two Cardinal players have earned this honor in the same season.

In the community, Shaw represents the Pac-12 on the AFCA Ethics Committee and is one of 18 individuals named to USA Football’s advisory committee. Last year, he was the only head football coach named to the NCAA Commission to Combat Campus Sexual Violence. In addition to his work with the commission, Shaw has been a leading advocate of the Set The Expectation program, aimed at working to end the culture of sexual assault and domestic violence among college and high school athletes. Stanford players became the first university in the country to sign the Set The Expectation student pledge, stating they would use their platforms to speak out against sexual assault and violence against women.

He has an overall record of 73-22 with three Pac-12 titles and two wins in the Rose Bowl.

Stanford won at least 11 games four times and had at least 10 wins five times under Shaw, while also going to a bowl game every season in which he has been the head coach.

Shaw has been named Pac-12 Coach of the Year four times and AFCA Regional Coach of the Year three times.

— #GoStanford —

About the Author

Alforde Joaquin

ALF’s passion for shooting and editing has earned him several awards including an Edward R. Murrow Award in 2006 for Videography. He was also a nominee for the National Edward R. Murrow Award for Videography. A 6-time Emmy recipient for five different categories: Director/Producer, Videography, Editing, Feature Segment and Sound Mixing, Alf has produced over 1,000 video segments and is committed to developing GetSportsFocus as one of the best sports video magazine on the web.