Sports Entertainment News


BASE | Cecilio Heads Group Named to All-WCC Teams

Posted May 19, 2015 by in

from USF Athletics – Zack Farmer

SAN BRUNO—After a season that saw the Dons only one game out of playing in the West Coast Conference Championship tournament, the team had five players named to All-WCC teams and the list was led by senior left hander Christian Cecilio.

Cecilio was named to the All-WCC First Team for the first time after throwing a league-best 109.2 innings and tallying a 2.05 ERA. It was his first time being honored by the conference.

Anthony Shew was nearly as durable as Cecilio and threw 94.0 innings while holding a 3.64 ERA, including a two-hit complete game shutout of Pepperdine and was rewarded by being named to the All-WCC Second Team.

Outfielders Derek Atkinson and Connor Hofmann were named WCC Honorable Mention and left hander Sam Granoff was named to the WCC All-Freshman team.


2015 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year

Rich Hill, San Diego

2015 West Coast Conference Player of the Year

Kyle Holder, Jr., SS, San Diego

2015 West Coast Conference Pitcher of the Year

David Hill, Jr., RHP, San Diego

2015 West Coast Conference Defender of the Year

Joey Harris, Jr., C, Gonzaga

2015 West Coast Conference Freshman of the Year

Bryson Brigman, Fr., IF, San Diego


2015 All-WCC Baseball First Team

Name Yr. Pos. School
Bryson Brigman Fr. IF San Diego
Brandon Caruso So. OF Pepperdine
Christian Cecilio Sr. LHP San Francisco
P.J. Conlon Jr. LHP San Diego
David Fletcher So. SS Loyola Marymount
Mitchell Gunsolus Sr. IF Gonzaga
David Hill Jr. RHP San Diego
Kyle Holder Jr. SS San Diego
Taylor Jones Jr. 1B Gonzaga
Hutton Moyer Jr. IF Pepperdine
Dillon Robinson Sr. 1B/3B BYU
Anthony Villa Jr. IF Saint Mary’s
Jose Vizcaino Jr. Jr. SS Santa Clara


2015 All-WCC Baseball Second Team

Name Yr. Pos. School
Steve Berman So. C Santa Clara
David Edwards Sr. 2B Loyola Marymount
Jesse Jenner Sr. C San Diego
Connor Hornsby Jr. OF Saint Mary’s
Reece Karalus Jr. RHP Santa Clara
Cory LeBrun Sr. DH/OF Gonzaga
Jackson McClelland Jr. RHP Pepperdine
Austin Miller So. CF Loyola Marymount
Hayden Nielsen Jr. SS BYU
Anthony Shew Jr. RHP San Francisco
Tyler Sullivan Sr. CF Pacific
Colton Waltner So. OF San Diego
Colin Welmon Sr. RHP Loyola Marymount


2015 WCC Baseball Honorable Mention

Derek Atkinson, San Francisco; Austin Bailey, San Diego; Aaron Barnett, Pepperdine; J.D. Busfield, Loyola Marymount; Matt Gelalich, Pepperdine; Connor Hofmann, San Francisco; Jake Jenkins, Pacific; Cody Lenahan, Portland; Trevor Megill, Loyola Marymount; Andrew Sopko, Gonzaga; Kevin Wade, Portland; Sean Watkins, Loyola Marymount; Johnny York, Saint Mary’s


2015 All-WCC Baseball Freshman Team

Name Pos. School
Riley Adams DH San Diego
Bryson Brigman IF San Diego
Tyler Frost OF/RHP Gonzaga
Sam Granoff LHP San Francisco
Zach Kirtley IF Saint Mary’s
Jordan Qsar OF/RHP Pepperdine
Colton Shaver DH BYU
Sean Watkins RHP/OF Loyola Marymount
Mitchell White RHP Santa Clara
Ryan Wilson LHP Pepperdine

About the Author

Alforde Joaquin

ALF’s passion for shooting and editing has earned him several awards including an Edward R. Murrow Award for videography. He recently received two first place awards from the San Francisco Bay Area Press Photographers Association in the Digital Media Sports Feature and Sports Videography categories. A 6-time Emmy recipient in five different categories: Director/Producer, Videography, Editing, Feature Segment and Sound Mixing, Alf has produced over 3,000+ video segments including several award winning documentaries and features.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response