Sports Entertainment News


Cal Football: Demetris Robertson Makes Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Posted July 18, 2017 by in

Cal Football Release
Demetris Robertson Makes Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Sophomore Receiver Coming Off Record-Setting Freshman All-American Campaign
Twitter: @CalAthletics, @CalFootball
Instagram: CalAthletics, Cal_Football

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Cal sophomore wide receiver Demetris Robertson was named Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation Inc. to the preseason watch list for the 2017 Biletnikoff Award for the honor that annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player regardless of position who catches a pass is eligible for the award

Robertson is one of nine Cal players currently on a preseason watch list heading into the 2017 season with the others Matt Anderson (Lou Groza Collegiate Place-kicker Award), Steven Coutts (Ray Guy Award), Raymond Davison (Allstate Good Works Team® Nominee, Wuerffel Trophy), Devante Downs (Butkus Award), James Looney (Bronko Nagurski Trophy), Addison Ooms (Rimington Trophy), Cameron Saffle (Lott IMPACT Trophy) and Tre Watson (Paul Hornung Award).

Robertson is a national preseason honors candidate for several awards honoring the nation’s most outstanding player overall as well as its top offensive player and wide receiver in his second season at Cal in 2017 after jumping into the spotlight in his first season at Cal as a true freshman in 2016 when he earned several freshman All-American honors from Campus Insiders,, Phil Steele and USA Today. Robertson, who also picked up Cal’s Bob Simmons Award as its Most Valuable Freshman, totaled 50 receptions, 767 receiving yards and seven touchdown catches (all second on the team behind fourth-round 2017 NFL Draft pick Chad Hansen) while playing in all 12 regular-season games and making 11 starts. Robertson broke Cal freshman records by DeSean Jackson for receiving yards set in 2005 and Keenan Allen for receptions established in 2011 while equaling Jackson’s Cal freshman mark in touchdown receptions also recorded in 2005. Robertson finished among the nation’s top freshmen in receiving touchdowns (2nd), receiving yards per game (3rd, 63.9), receiving yards (3rd), yards per reception (6th, team-high 15.3), receptions (7th) and receptions per game (8th).

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 13, 2017, following the vote by the members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 21, 2017. The winner will be announced live at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show televised by ESPNU on December 7, 2017, and presented with the Biletnikoff Award trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on February 10, 2018.

For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation’s website at and follow @BiletnikoffAwrd on Twitter

The Biletnikoff Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 23 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month from July 10-21. Sixteen of the association’s 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.

About the Author

Alforde Joaquin

ALF’s passion for shooting and editing has earned him several awards including an Edward R. Murrow Award for videography. He recently received two first place awards from the San Francisco Bay Area Press Photographers Association in the Digital Media Sports Feature and Sports Videography categories. A 6-time Emmy recipient in five different categories: Director/Producer, Videography, Editing, Feature Segment and Sound Mixing, Alf has produced over 3,000+ video segments including several award winning documentaries and features.