Sports Entertainment News


Cal Football News Chad Hansen Added To Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Posted September 20, 2016 by in


BERKELEY – Cal junior wide receiver Chad Hansen was added to the 2016 Biletnikoff Award Watch List for the first time in his career the Tallahassee Quarterback Club announced Tuesday. The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the top receiver at any position in college football and is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the Pro and College Football Halls of Fame who was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders after an All-American career at Florida State.

The recognition was the latest for the junior wide receiver that was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week on Monday among a host of other awards. Hansen is off to a blistering start in 2016 leading the nation in receptions (40), receptions per game (13.3), receiving yards (546) and receiving yards per game (182.0 ypg), while he is tied for the lead in receiving touchdowns (5).

Hansen is believed to be the first Cal player to ever record both three consecutive games of at least 10 catches and 100 yards receiving. He opened the season with back-to-back career-high-tying 14-reception contests that rank tied third on the school’s single-game receptions list vs. Hawai’i (160 yards, 2 TD) as the MVP of the College Football Sydney Cup and at San Diego State (190 yards, 1 TD) before earning Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week honors among others in Cal’s 50-43 victory over Texas last Saturday when he had 12 receptions for a career-high 196 yards receiving and a career-high-tying two touchdown catches while also adding a two-point conversion in the fourth quarter. His second touchdown catch was a 12-yarder from Davis Webb with 3:41 remaining that snapped a 43-43 tie and provided the winning margin.

Hansen is one of only two players on Cal’s single-game reception list to have more than one top-10 contest with the other Dameane Douglas, who has three games on the list.

Fans may vote for Hansen once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page and discuss his candidacy on the award’s FanForum discussion board. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine ten semi-finalists (ten receivers), three finalists and the winner who will be announced live December 8 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show (4-6 pm PT, ESPN). The 2016 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 18, 2017.

. . . . . . . .

GetSportsFocus is presented by: Dr. Arthur J. Ting, MD – Sports Medicine & Orthopedic Surgery

GetSportsFocus is presented by: Dr. Arthur J. Ting, MD - Sports Medicine & Orthopedic Surgery

About the Author

Alforde Joaquin

ALF’s passion for shooting and editing has earned him several awards including an Edward R. Murrow Award for videography. He recently received two first place awards from the San Francisco Bay Area Press Photographers Association in the Digital Media Sports Feature and Sports Videography categories. A 6-time Emmy recipient in five different categories: Director/Producer, Videography, Editing, Feature Segment and Sound Mixing, Alf has produced over 3,000+ video segments including several award winning documentaries and features.