Sports Entertainment News


HS Wrestling | 54th Jim Root Memorial

Posted January 16, 2017 by in


Wrestling | 54th Jim Root Memorial Tournament

103 LB
Eli Blackwell (Tracy) 20-2, Fr. over Harrison Nguyen (Evergreen Valley) 11-5, Fr. (Dec 4-2)

113 LB
Izzy Tubera (Pitman) 4-0, over Adam Arenas (Abraham Lincoln (San Jose)) 7-2, Fr. (Dec 5-0)

120 LB
Gregory Viloria (Merrill West) 19-2, Sr. over Wyatt Carter (Hilmar) 20-7, So. (MD 16-6)

126 LB
Raul Ortiz (Scotts Valley) 5-0, over Daniel Meza (Santa Teresa) 3-1, Fr. (Fall 1:11)

132 LB
Mike Amaro (Prospect) 14-2, Sr. over Kendall La Rosa (Pitman) 4-1, (Dec 4-1)

138 LB
Adam Velasquez (Pitman) 4-0, over Cody Pruis (Heritage) 19-5, So. (MD 9-1)

145 LB
Daniel Woo (Pioneer) 16-2, Jr. over Alfredo Mendoza (Salinas) 12-4, So. (Dec 8-3)

152 LB
Skyler Wright (Miramonte) 9-4, Sr. over Hudson Burch (Heritage) 12-5, Sr. (Dec 6-3)

160 LB
Briant Ferguson (Heritage) 9-6, Sr. over Thomas Kost (Archbishop Mitty) 14-6, Sr. (Fall 4:50)

170 LB
Maxwell Fleming (Miramonte) 22-2, Sr. over Justin Rentfro (Hilmar) 18-6, So. (Dec 5-0

182 LB
Isaiah Perez (Pitman) 4-0, over Cody Rentfro (Hilmar) 21-3, Sr. (Dec 3-1)

195 LB
Sai Kim (Leland) 4-1, Jr. over Chad Crews (Serra) 5-4, Sr. (Dec 5-0)

220 LB
Blaine Nye (California (San Ramon)) 13-3, Sr. over Ricky Camacho (Half Moon Bay) 8-4, Jr. (Dec 6-0)

285 LB
John Bayley (Westmont) 9-0, Sr. over Julian Barrera (Pitman) 3-1, (Fall 3:53)


About the Author

Alforde Joaquin

ALF’s passion for shooting and editing has earned him several awards including an Edward R. Murrow Award for videography. He recently received two first place awards from the San Francisco Bay Area Press Photographers Association in the Digital Media Sports Feature and Sports Videography categories. A 6-time Emmy recipient in five different categories: Director/Producer, Videography, Editing, Feature Segment and Sound Mixing, Alf has produced over 3,000+ video segments including several award winning documentaries and features.